C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Metal shaving under valve cover, is my engine dying.

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2017, 04:11 PM
Denpo
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 127 Likes on 68 Posts
2022 C3 of the Year Finalist - Modified

Originally Posted by 1Hotrodz
Should have read the whole thread before posting. Looks like you found the prob.
No problem mate, all advises are welcome.
Old 08-24-2017, 04:13 PM
Denpo
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Originally Posted by PeteZO6
If the duration is at 0.050", I'd say that's a pretty stiff cam, especially with lift at over half an inch. One would hope the builder matched the valve springs to the cam. Makes me wonder why it has dampers instead of a second, inner, spring on each valve. But I'm not an expert, just throwing out some thoughts.

Pete
You're probably more of an expert than the previous owner. All he was expert at was scamming people. Thanks for the input.
Old 08-24-2017, 05:03 PM
bmans vette
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 351 Likes on 304 Posts
St. Jude Donor '12-'13, '15- '16-'17-'18-'19, '21

Originally Posted by Denpo
No idea, the engine is just like when I bought it.
I dug up the bill from the engine assembly, here's what it's supposed to be make of

Weiand Team G intake
Eagle SBC 4340 Steel Crankshaft 3.480 Stroke
Eagle "SIR" I-Beam Forged 5140 Steel Connecting Rods
Clevite MS909H - H-Series main bearing
Clevite CB663HN - H-Series Rod Bearings
SRP 138081 Flat Top Forged Pistons +5.00cc piston volume
R9902.030 - Sealed Power - Speed-Pro Plasma Moly Piston Rings
ARP 134-5001 - ARP Main Bolt Kits
Pioneer Automotive DA-3071 - Harmonic Balancers
Patriot 2180 Heads. 64cc intake 190cc I:2.02" E:1.60"
Crane Cams 11744-16 - Crane Energizer Roller Rocker Arms
COMP Cams 12-678-4 Camshaft, Mechanical Flat Tappet, Duration 282/290, Lift .520/.540
Proform 67015 15" electric fan w/ thermostat