New fuel tank complication....

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2018, 06:23 PM
ST68
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default New fuel tank complication....

Hi Guys,

My '68 came with a wasted sending unit and internally pretty rusty (although not original) fuel tank. Eventually I decided to replace it and pulled it a couple of weeks ago. Had been anxiously waiting for the new tank to get that chore completed, but realized upon opening the box that they're not all the same. The tank in the car had had the return line plugged. It looked like maybe they had brazed a brass plug into it and painted over it. Anyway, the new tank has the return port on it but I don't have a return line, which I'm assuming also means I don't have a fuel pump with a return port on it. A lot of what I'm assuming is normal is just based on what I've read here or elsewhere because I've never worked on one of these before, so please bare with me!

The tank I'm replacing has what appears to be a mechanical vent on it, but the new one does not. I have replaced the gas cap with another vented one. If I plug that return port on the tank am I going to have issues? If not, is there a recommended method for plugging it without worrying about the plug working loose or rotting out in 5 years?

The carb is a replacement Q-Jet (this is still "mostly" an L79 car) in case that matters. Thanks in advance!
Old 03-04-2018, 06:03 AM
azza2u
Racer

Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts

Similar on my 68 where the carb and fuel pump had been swapped out rendering the return line unnecessary. Just ended up capping the top port of the tank before putting it in. Vented cap is a must though.

Last edited by azza2u; 03-04-2018 at 06:05 AM.
The following users liked this post:
ST68 (03-04-2018)
Old 03-04-2018, 12:20 PM
ST68
Intermediate

Originally Posted by azza2u