Sponsored by:

1982 Collector will not start

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2019, 03:39 PM
rspitzer
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1982 Collector will not start

Posted to the wrong place. Reposted to C3 forum.

Last edited by rspitzer; 03-09-2019 at 03:45 PM. Reason: Posted to wrong thread
Old 03-11-2019, 07:54 PM
Mpls Funk
Burning Brakes

Received 59 Likes on 36 Posts

I'm no expert in these things - but have fought my way through it a few times. The basics hold true...you need fuel, spark and air to get it to fire. I start one by one to see if I have those things...usually find the problem. Pull the fuel line off and put a rag under it...crank it over and see if you get fuel coming out. Take a spark plug out and hold it against the block somewhere to ground it and crank it over...see if you are getting sparks.
Old 03-11-2019, 08:27 PM
rspitzer
Cruising

Found the issue to be a poor connection on the fuel pump. It would prime the injectors but would then quit. Repaired the connections and all is working now.
Old 03-12-2019, 01:31 PM
L-46man
Melting Slicks

Received 1,218 Likes on 844 Posts

Post up some pix of the car.....CE owners want to see!

Unkahal
Old 03-12-2019, 04:11 PM
rspitzer
Cruising

Default Pics as requested. Hope they show up OK

This is my baby. I have owned it since new, purchased Dec 31, 1982. It is as close to original as I could do. Interior is like new as is the exterior. Original paint and decals too.

Pulled it out of garage to get a good shot and it promply started snowing. So much for spring in Alberta!

This is the interior showing the replacement stereo unit. It is a perfect fit, no mods required and gives me all the features in modern radios including bluetooth connectivity!
Old 03-12-2019, 04:15 PM
rspitzer
Cruising

One more that shows the full dash and console. Hope everyone likes the pics. I am very proud of this machine and still love driving it after all these years.
Old 03-12-2019, 05:47 PM
L-46man
Melting Slicks