Sponsored by:

Wet sand and polish on my 69

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2019, 10:07 PM
Dave Cunningham
Racer

Received 35 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Wet sand and polish on my 69

Took a quick holiday after painting my 69 roadster a couple of weeks ago ,and was exited to get back and continue working on it . This is the first car I have ever painted and I have limited experience with wet sanding and polishing, but after some youtubing and some trial and error , I came up with a pretty good system and thought I would share it on here.
I had applied three really good coats of clear to work with so I started by going over the car with a block and 1000 grit to level out any dust particles , nibs etc. And get them dead flat. Then I used my DA , with the hook and loop system and 1500 grit, spraying a light coat of water on all the surfaces. I kept at this until all surface imperfections were gone, then changed up to 2000 grit on the DA and same procedure, dried everything off then moved on to 3000 grit on the DA with a 1/2" sponge pad as a backing, spraying water as well. At this point the clearcoat is starting to shine again. I then masked all the edges and started polishing using the 3M number one polish that you will see in the picture, and a brand new wool polishing pad, at the end of this stage I removed all the masking tape and carefully polished the edges. Then changed the polishing pad to the blue waffle style fome pad , and used the 3M number two polish to go over the whole thing.
It turned out amazing. And if I were to do it all over again with out all my trial and error experimentation, I could probably have done the whole car in about 6 hours, the DA sander speeds up the process so much , it's amazing.

The following 3 users liked this post by Dave Cunningham:
gbozz (03-12-2019), JoeMinnesota (03-11-2019), Rescue Rogers (03-12-2019)
Old 03-11-2019, 10:12 PM
JoeMinnesota
Pro

Received 148 Likes on 128 Posts