Sponsored by:

Correct Terminology

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2019, 02:00 PM
Skeetshooter
Advanced

Received 24 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Correct Terminology

I know I am new to the Corvette world, (over from the Porsche world), but I'd like to correct the 'rubber bumper' myth. Actually what covers the 5 mph sub-structure is called a fascia. It seems there is a hatred, maybe a bit too strong of a word, but certainly there seems to be a prejudice against the first facia cars. I will admit the rear of my '79 leaves a lot to be desired in the styling department but with the help of the factory optional spoiler it looks much better. To me the front is beautiful. And I'll add Chevrolet did a much better job than a lot of the other OEMs covering all the 5 mph sub-structures. Think about it... Corvettes have now had facias, (rubber bumpers), for over 45 years.
If you look at a same era Porsche they do have bumpers, albeit 5 mph bumpers. Heavy bumpers with shock absorbers behind them. AND huge, heavy, and ugly bumperettes. Also, the same 'prejudice' exists in the Porsche world. But there, the 'long hood crowd' frowns on the short hood cars, (5mph bumper cars).
To finish this semi-rant... Yes the chrome bumper cars are stunning but don't discount the infant engineering & design that was forced on the OEMs in the first safety era of car manufacturing.
Now if the community is using rubber bumpers as a slang then this is all moot. Kinda like saying motor for engine.
Thanks for listening.
Old 03-16-2019, 02:18 PM
Jon Hekking
Race Director

Received 237 Likes on 127 Posts
2020 C3 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2019 C3 of Year Finalist (stock)

I prefer the term “disco Vettes”. I can have most any vette I want but I always come back to these. These are the cars I lusted after in my youth.
Old 03-16-2019, 02:43 PM
hdal
Instructor

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts