C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help...pulling engine and can't get to bellhousing bolts

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 03:40 PM
Quil
Drifting

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts
C2 of the Year Finalist - Modified 2020

Default Need help...pulling engine and can't get to bellhousing bolts

I am in the process of pulling the engine in my '75/manual trans, and I have only been able to successfully remove one of the bellhousing bolts. I cannot physically get to the two on the side. I wasn't planning on pulling the trans with the engine, so my idea was just to separate at the block/bellhousing, but that's not looking too good. Can I separate the bellhousing from the trans and pull it that way? This is my first time pulling an engine, so bear with me here.
Old 04-08-2008, 04:03 PM
GDaina
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

It will be easier if you separate the bellhousing from the block. You should be able to get at the bolts from either top or bottom.....try using a long extension with a universal, if that doesn't work, try using a box wrench.
Old 04-08-2008, 04:06 PM
pbcanney
Drifting

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

3/8 DRIVE 18" EXTENSION + 3/8 UJOINT AND SOCKET {oops caps} is how I got to mine

but you really need to pull the trans out first

you can get away with cracking them with an automatic, but too much shaft sticks in through the clutch assembly for me to attempt it with a manual.
Old 04-08-2008, 04:16 PM
Quil
Drifting