C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

power steering in ls1 swap

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2008, 07:43 PM
mg267
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default power steering in ls1 swap

hey all..

kind of a rookie here, i have a 1969 corvette with ls1 swap w/ no power steering, what kinda kit would i need for a conversion to power steering?

thanks!
mg
Old 12-20-2008, 10:46 PM
mg267
Advanced

helllooo?
Old 12-21-2008, 12:05 AM
70Yellowbird
Burning Brakes

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

Some of the catalog and internet parts vendors have assembly diagrams that show just about everything you would need to do an as-original conversion (meaning just like a system that would have been installed in your '69 at the factory) from non-PS to PS. You can also install other more modern systems. I understand that the modern systems work better ... but I have no first hand experience with them. You can buy new or rebuilt parts ... and you can save money (about $230) buying rebuilt parts if you have a rebuildable pump, cylinder, and control valve to use as trade-in cores.

Here is a list of everything that I needed for my '70 SB, for an as-original conversion. I'm not sure if these are exactly the same parts you would need for your BB, but there are plenty of forum members here that can provide additional input:
Pump Assembly (includes reservoir, cap, etc.)
Pump Pulley
2 Pump mounting Brackets
Pitman Arm (you will need to replace existing)
Relay Rod, also called Drag Link (you will need to replace existing)
Cylinder
Cylinder Shaft End Bracket w/ Mounting Reinforcements
Control Valve
Pressure Hose
Return Hose
Extend Hose
Retract Hose
Main Drive Pulley
Drive Belt
PS Fluid
Mounting Bolts, Washers, Nuts, Clamps, etc. (these may come with the main parts that you need)