C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

front wheel hits the frame in turn

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2012, 03:43 AM
pvana
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default front wheel hits the frame in turn

Hello

my front right tire hits frame during sharp right turn.
I have checked limiters in lower a-arm but they are too far to prevent it. is there any other way to set the turn limit so tire does not contact the frame?
thanks in advance for your answers!
Old 07-26-2012, 05:48 AM
brando1118
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm no suspension expert, but by not providing rim size, tire size, suspension modifications (if any) and steering mods (if any) is going to get you few, if any responses.
Old 07-26-2012, 07:17 AM
pvana
Intermediate

you are absolutely right sorry.

all is stock 15" original rims nad tires. I have had body off frame and assembled back + whell alignmnet done
Old 07-26-2012, 09:46 AM
69 Chevy
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by pvana

...my front right tire hits frame during sharp right turn.
My left front tire used to rub the frame but it didn't do any damage to the tire. It scuffed the frame paint a little. Big deal. How much time do you spend at full right lock?

I eventually corrected it by installing a Steeroids rack & pinion which has less overall steering travel.
Old 07-26-2012, 09:50 AM
Konkol1
Advanced

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

When I switched from p225/70 to p255/60, I also have the same ever so slight rub on the frame. Doesn't bother me because like 69 Chevy said, the time spent at full lock is slim to none.
Dale
Old 07-26-2012, 09:51 AM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,815 Likes on 1,604 Posts

exactly what size tire do you have? any worn bushings in lower or upper A arms? Did the alignment require more than a normal amount of shims on the upper A arm?
Old 07-26-2012, 09:53 AM
pvana