C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fellow frame-off Victims - Time to reunite body-frame - Potential Pitfalls?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2013, 05:55 PM
gbarmore
Pro

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Default Fellow frame-off Victims - Time to reunite body-frame - Potential Pitfalls?

Those of you that have suffered through a frame-off know the feeling when you finally get to the point you see below.... The point when you get to bring body and chassis back together again! I'm there, or so I think I am, and I only want to do this once (I've done everything else on the car at least twice already ). Does anyone have any advice or last minute things that should be done before I drop her back on?? No comment is too obvious, it's always the obvious stuff that seems to go unnoticed, and this is my first attempt at this. Has anyone made a pre-drop to-do list?

Here's a picture of where i'm at with the chassis.

The frame has been leveled, body mounts are shimmed where needed, and I will be wrapping the frame with cellophane as the car needs paint too. I've mocked up the motor accessories already but removed them to make getting the body up and over easier. Oh, and the + battery cable has been run. My biggest question is whether or not I will be able to install the engine side of the Air Conditioner / Heater Box after I do the drop. Even if I can, should I just do it now to make life easy? I've heard it both ways.

Feel free to fill in the blanks, and THANKS!!
1)
2)
3)
4).....
Old 03-05-2013, 06:19 PM
Jig A Low
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm not there YET but it won't be long.