C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Strange Unknown Wire Hook-up

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2013, 04:23 PM
Credon
Intermediate

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post

Default Strange Unknown Wire Hook-up

I have a 69' 350/350. A few weeks ago I was cleaning the engine bay and noticed a loose orange wire. It has a female rubber plug on the end. In the general area is a gold colored terminal with a few other wires going into it. There is one male stud that looked like this wire went right into. After a little pushing the plug snapped right on.

After going for a drive I noticed that the emergency brake light would come on but not a full intensity. The radio would come on but no signal would pick-up.

Obviously I un-hooked the plus and now everything is back to normal. Any idea of what this plug is for? I'm not really an engine expert which is why my lingo is a bit general. Also, the engine is stock with no modifications.

I have attached a photo with the plug circled as well as an arrow showing the location of the gold colored terminal.

Thanks everyone! Don
Old 07-21-2013, 05:25 PM
Alan 71
Team Owner

Received 2,878 Likes on 2,515 Posts

Hi c,
I believe that wire should lead to the brake fluid distribution block that's mounted on the top of the frame rail just forward and below the master cylinder.
There's a brass, (I believe), 'prong' that sticks out of the block body and is the male connection for the female plug you see.
Regards,
Alan
Old 07-21-2013, 07:42 PM
0Willcox Corvette
Former Vendor

Received 1,813 Likes on 1,458 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15

Well it sure looks like the wire to the brake block, but that wire is tan not orange... wonder if the one pictured is just not a bit faded to orange... can you scrape it a bit and double check.

Willcox
Old 07-22-2013, 12:29 AM
Mooser
Race Director

Received 3,139 Likes on 2,070 Posts