C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

73 Front Radio Speaker

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2013, 06:48 PM
westash
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 73 Front Radio Speaker

My right stereo speaker stop working ( left side is OK ). Can I get to speaker and radio without removing the entire dash from the car (dash never goes back together like the factory fit). It might be that I just need to replace the Speaker Harness wires. Is this an easy fix ?
I tried playing with the radio speaker **** but no success.

Can I pop off the speaker cover from the top of the dash and unscrew the 4 screws that hold the speaker in place to get to the bottom of speaker and see if the wires are connected properly ?

Also, what is involved in pulling the radio out and seeing if the wires are connected properly to the back of the radio ?

I am not a true mechanic, should I leave this up to the pro's or is it something I can tackle ?

Thanks
Old 10-09-2013, 07:08 PM
Blue73Shark
Burning Brakes

Received 187 Likes on 134 Posts

You can get to the speaker by removing the map pocket part of the dash, which will also require the removal of the center console. One removed, you can access the speaker easily, undoing the screws that hold it to the dash. You can also check the wiring to it and the convector (transistor attached to a heat sink, just below the speaker). The picture below shows the dash removed in my 73 so I could replace the right speaker. Also did the left at the same time, but that is another story. Good luck.

Fran

Old 10-09-2013, 07:49 PM
0Willcox Corvette
Former Vendor

Received 1,813 Likes on 1,458 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15