C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Re-curve mechanical advance problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2015, 03:07 PM
addballer696
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Re-curve mechanical advance problem

So I have a dilemma. Car is 1977 corvette l-82 with vortex heads and sidepipes. I wanted to re curve my Accell super coil distributor so i bought a mr gasket spring set. Tried out both gold springs (the heaviest) and was all in at 36 degrees at 1700 rpms. With 16 degrees initial timing. Throughout 1700-2400 rpm's is a very high pitched humming noise that I am assuming is pinging from such advanced timing. With the stock springs installed I'm all in at 1800 (not any better). I bent the springs to make them as stiff as possible and now im all in at 2100, still with pinging. I've never done this before but figured I'd read up from Lar's articles and try my best. As of now, I lowered the initial timing to 10 degrees and my mechanical advance is 30 degree's, as a temporary fix. Are there heavier springs out there? do i need lighter weights? The ones in there now are original to my knowledge. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
Old 03-16-2015, 03:34 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,816 Likes on 1,605 Posts

the humming sound is in neutral or when you are driving?
you are using a dial back timing light?
you are sure your balancer has not slipped?
did you leave the stock weight in and just use the springs?
have you seen this?
http://www.arkansaspontiacs.org/tech...s/recurve.html

Last edited by MelWff; 03-16-2015 at 03:44 PM.
Old 03-16-2015, 03:53 PM
addballer696
Racer