C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help.. Tail lights are lighting the front parking lamps??

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2016, 10:56 PM
eds78
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help.. Tail lights are lighting the front parking lamps??

I am new to this form and just purchased a 1978 Corvette. I have a feeling I will be using this Form a lot. LOL The first issue is with the break lights and turn signals.

1> First issue...I have absolutely no turn signals at all. When I picked up the car 2 weeks ago the left signal worked fine but the right one just came on solid. Now nothing at all.

2> Secondly, when the running and headlights are on all front running lights, side markers, tail lights and headlights work just fine (except the driver front side marker which I just found had a burnt out bulb which I am replacing tomorrow) so all appears to be working fine.

3> The issues start when I depress the break;

1st lets look at what happens when the lights are OFF;
When I depress the break pedal several things happen 1> The inside dash turn signal indicators (both right and left) comes on solid. 2>The right rear BREAK LIGHT Does not light up but the left rear does. 3>The 2 front facing running lights light up (not any of the side markers).

2nd Lets look at what happens when the lights are ON: When I depress the break pedal 1> the, inside dash turn signal indicators (both right and left) comes on solid. 2>The right rear tail light goes out and the break light does NOT come on. 3>The left rear goes from tail light to break light just as it should 4>The front facing running lights light up BRIGHTER than they are as running lights.

I just replaced the two rear tail/break bulbs tonight. One was somewhat rusted but the inside of both sockets looked pretty good.