C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Heat soak vs vapor lock vs carb issue - not sure

Old 04-02-2017, 10:07 AM
Boatguy95
Advanced

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Heat soak vs vapor lock vs carb issue - not sure

First, thanks for your indulgence - I realize these are three distinct issues but I've been chasing the same elephant for a few months now and am pretty new to the hobby. I searched the forum and found several examples of solutions to each of these individual issues but each post had slightly different circumstances.

Background: I have an 71 smallblock 350, numbers matching original with original Qjet that has been rebuilt at least once. Mallory distributor installed about 3 years ago.

Driving scenario is similar to this -- yesterday evening, clear skies, 68 degrees, drive about 15 miles to a place for dinner (about a 20 minute trip door to door). Park. Car sits for about an hour. Come back, starts right up, start the drive back on the interstate and about 5 minutes into the trip down the interstate it starts lurching like a brahma bull. High speed stumble lasts about 1/4 mile, I safely pull over to the side of the road and it finally dies out. I let it sit for about 10 seconds, and then start it back up -- it has no problem turning over. Put it back in gear, and start easing down the side of the road at less than 5 mph just to see if it starts skipping again, which it does. That lasts for about 100 yds.