C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1979 Electrical problems! GEN Light on and battery gague out

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2017, 02:53 PM
clypsedra
Advanced

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default 1979 Electrical problems! GEN Light on and battery gague out

Hello,

I am new to the world of corvettes. Last week I bought a 1979 Corvette and have been fixing little things here and there: the automatic door locks, horn, interior lights, clock, and one of the dashboard blinkers did not work. Last night I pulled the fuses one at a time and checked to see if they were blown. One was, I believe the CTSY, and so I replaced it. The lights and horn worked and I was very pleased, although the door locks, dashboard light, and clock were still broken.

Today I took the car for a spin and was surprised that the GEN light was on. The battery gauge, which used to read pretty much full as the previous guy just recently replaced the battery, was at zero.
Everything else ran like normal. I had to go back to work but I don't think the interior lights are going on anymore.

I think the car has more than a few electrical issues as the panic horn goes off when you lock the driver door. I don't know what to do about this. Does this mean that I just have a blown fuse again, or something worse? I don't think the car should have started if the battery was out... What is happening?

Last edited by clypsedra; 05-24-2017 at 02:55 PM.
Old 05-24-2017, 03:19 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,816 Likes on 1,605 Posts

start with a visual inspection of the large wire attached with a nut and the two smaller wires in a plug on the alternator. With the engine running you should have at least 13 volts at the large wire.
Old 05-25-2017, 09:00 PM
clevan barclay
Intermediate

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

do no harm! Start at the battery.