C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Did basic tuning on new build and still running meh. Help with advanced tuning?

Old 02-09-2018, 02:56 PM
Shdggsdv
Racer

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Did basic tuning on new build and still running meh. Help with advanced tuning?

So I built up my car's previously Mercruiser engine. Replaced heads, cam, etc. Should be getting a theoretical 430ish brake horsepower (Identical build to Hot Rod Mag's budget 440hp Vortec motor but with 1.5 rockers, better heads, and a correctly matched carb.). I'd also like to mention this is my first time actually messing with tuning.

I've got a Holley 670 Street Avenger. Distributor is an MSD Streetfire 8362. Cam is Comp XE274. Heads are Promaxx 2180 64cc aluminum. Intake is an Assault 190cc aluminum intake.

I got my initial set to 12 degrees and according to specs my springs and dizzy should be giving me all in 34 degrees by 3k RPM (Might turn it up to 14 initial to get 36 total later on after getting everything else down). I also set my idle mixture to get best idle vacuum and adjusted my floats.

I'm running a 5.5 power valve (Cam gets about 11" at idle), which I may have blown before the test drive when I backfired through the carb. Plan to replace that tonight. Will also adjust the little arm for the accel pump. I believe I have 65 jets (I'm at 2,000ft and wanna have it set for about 80 degrees average for the time being)

It feels like it bogs and often struggles to get past 3.5-4k RPM (Should be getting up to 6.5k with ease!). It still feels like I'm getting less than 300bhp and my 0-60 mental timing is higher than 7 seconds. It's slower than my Nissan Maxima! Not even able to squeal the tires

So I have a few questions I'm struggling with finding solid info on.

How do you choose the accelerator squirter nozzle size?