C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Picking correct alternator

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2018, 08:10 PM
hardmansonfan
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Picking correct alternator

hi guys please help ....
backstory....
I have a 77 Corvette with a 350 small block with 6-al2 ignition box all lights on exterior are standard but eventually will convert to LEDs. Interior I have no dome light, no courtesy light, no plans for radio, no heat or AC or controls for heat and only cigarette lighter for cigarette powered speaker box. all dash lights have been converted to LED. I have replaced my old alternator (did not see how many amps) with new alternator 140 amps (proform chrome bowtie). I have found a few semi melted wires. this is my first build I thought more amps the better it is but came to realise the latter. I think I need a new alternator with less amps. 1st question, can someone please tell me how many amps is for the stock alternator or any recommendations for the need of amps. 2nd, I know there is a one wire setup available and three wire setup available can someone please explain the difference and which one is better (ex. Purchase extra wire (correct gauge) for one wire setup)
p.s. I have just purchase a brand new headlight harness (hence why I want to change alternator not to mess up new wires) I believe it comes with all new hook ups for 3 wire setup.
I just want something good & easy to install "don't we all" hahaha
p.p.s I have new engine harness and new entire Dash harness installed already on the car
thank you yet again
corvette forum rules
Old 05-10-2018, 11:33 PM
carriljc
Le Mans Master

Received 878 Likes on 763 Posts

The alternator amperage CAPABILITY will not damage your wires or your system. You need to ensure that your wiring system is up to snuff. The alternator only supplies the demanded amperage.