C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1977 C3 longtube headers

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2018, 08:59 AM
Novusuhu
Burning Brakes

Received 30 Likes on 26 Posts
Default 1977 C3 longtube headers

Hey everyone

I thought the original exhaust would hold up a little longer but no...Yesterday my exhaust broke apart because of rust (it was completely rotten).
So now that I'm taking off the exhaust pipes, I'm thinking of finally going for a true dual with H-pipe.

But first things first ofcourse and that are longtube headers!
- My budget is between 250 $ and 350 $.
- I want a set that will fit in with no problems.
- My engine is an original L48 (I'll only install a Performer intake that I have laying around upcoming winter). So I understand that the primaries may not be to big?
- I'm just a street driver, so ground clearence is important.
- I don't care about the brand. They just have to be good price/quality.

- I would prefere a ceramic coating on the inside and outside (Quality coating!). I have read about ceramic coated headers, and it seems that the factory coating is only on the outside... Is that true?
Because of that I'm thinking of buying a steel set and let a shop in Belgium put a ceramic coating on them. I may even go stainless if it is possible to put a ceramic coating on it that holds up...?.

What do you think?
Sorry guys, I know that these are a lot of questions, but understand that I'm from Europe and I want to buy a product that has a guaranteed fit and is of good quality (Headers+shipping+import tax are expensive!).

Old 08-28-2018, 09:29 AM
ratflinger
NCM Grand Opening Veteran
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 356 Likes on 248 Posts
St. Jude Donor '11, '17

For that money I'd be looking at EBay, but I don't know how the shipping would work out for you.

You might consider a set of shorties vs longtube if fitment is primary.