C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

th350 shifting problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2018, 10:52 PM
Steven24f
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default th350 shifting problem

When I drive the car normally the transmission goes into all three gears but when I floor the car from 0 or low miles per hour it downshifts perfectly to 1st but it sputters at high rpm's in 1st right before going into 2nd and have to let off the gas for it to go in. It doesn't slip and the tranny rides good normally, I put a brand new fuel pump and lines to be sure it wasn't that and it continues to do it. Any ideas?
Old 09-14-2018, 11:07 PM
Bikespace
Le Mans Master

Received 3,155 Likes on 2,341 Posts

I'm no expert, and I'd certainly do your own search, but I recall that the shift modulator for these transmissions is vacuum powered, and often an issue. When you are at WOT, your vacuum is much reduced, perhaps causing issues shifting. Maybe search for "TH350 vacuum shift modulator". It appears that some of them are adjustable, too.

I'll keep my 4-speed, but good luck!
Old 09-15-2018, 09:51 AM
Bronze85
Pro

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts

ignition misfire?
Old 09-15-2018, 10:56 AM
REELAV8R
Le Mans Master

Received 1,034 Likes on 852 Posts

Vacuum modulator for shifting is for less than wot throttle. At wot the shifting is controlled by a govenor on the trans.

however I would suspect fuel starvation if the engine is sputtering , dying just before shifting at high rpm. It could also be ignition as suggested,
is the engine stock or has it been modified for more power?
Old 09-15-2018, 03:08 PM
sambrand
Racer

Received 43 Likes on 40 Posts