C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

81 header/exhaust install

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2019, 06:50 PM
Smurphy521
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 81 header/exhaust install

Hey guys

I have a 81 l81, man. Trans

Im looking to do a full exhaust system and remove the smog stuff. I found this kit https://www.corvettecentral.com/c3-6...ow%26count%3d9

has anyone installed these headers and or full
kit on a 81 with man. Trans? I hear removal of clutch cross shaft is involved. Is there a special gasket I need to buy to install headers? Any tips is appreciated

also curious what’s involved in removing the smog equipment

any helps appreciated
Old 04-05-2019, 02:03 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,815 Likes on 1,604 Posts

I have no direct experience with this kit.In the description it states it comes with gaskets and bolts. The crosshaft removal is very simple. On an 81 both the carburetor and the distributor are computer controlled so unless you do other modifications that function will not change.
Old 04-05-2019, 03:31 PM
Smurphy521
7th Gear

Originally Posted by MelWff
I have no direct experience with this kit.In the description it states it comes with gaskets and bolts. The crosshaft removal is very simple. On an 81 both the carburetor and the distributor are computer controlled so unless you do other modifications that function will not change.
so the carb and distributor will function fine without the other smog equipment?
Old 04-05-2019, 03:56 PM
jim-81
Drifting

Received 280 Likes on 195 Posts