C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Good deal?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2002, 11:35 PM
Bacchus
Safety Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good deal?

I'm new to Corvette's and am looking at buying my first one. Here's a run-down: '72 t-top, all original w/64k miles. Mille Magenta Red (sp?), black interior. Automatic, air, power windows. Paint is "okay" from 20 feet, but will probably need to be redone soon. Mechanically the car runs out good, shifts fine, etc. Engine puffs smoke at first start-up, but then gone (probably guides). Interior is very clean and solid. All gauges work, except clock. Lights pop-up just fine, and wipers and windows work great. no apparent major leaks. Frame is solid and no stress cracks in the body that I could find. Tires are 90%. One muffler has just developed a hole. Brakes have not been worked on, but are currently working well with no leaks or pulls.

$9,000. Good deal? Or not?

Thanks!
Old 12-07-2002, 11:39 PM
Corey_68
Team Owner

Received 391 Likes on 237 Posts

Default Re: Good deal? (Bacchus)

The indication of smoke upon start up is more than likely the valve seals. Nothing a valve job couldn't take care of. $9K sounds pretty good, especially a low mileage car.

If it all looks well, I'd go for it. :cheers:

[Modified by Corey 68, 10:49 PM 12/7/2002]
Old 12-07-2002, 11:42 PM
Bacchus
Safety Car

Default Re: Good deal? (Corey 68)

Thanks. I thought the mileage looked pretty good too. And I agree, the initial smoke is probably nothing more than guides or seals and a valve job would take care of that. Anything additional I should look for?

Brian
Old 12-07-2002, 11:47 PM
Crash Dummy
Safety Car

St. Jude Contributor

I will give you a forewarning....