C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

RPM Machine and 383 Stroker Kits

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2006, 12:27 PM
zo1boy
Le Mans Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RPM Machine and 383 Stroker Kits

Has anyone ever heard of, or dealt with, RPM Machine? They are one of the first links that come up when googling 383 Stroker, yet I have never heard of them.

Here are the kits on their web site. The two I'm concerned with are the forged 383, and the cast 383 kits. Are these prices reasonable?
http://www.rpmmachine.com/chevy-sb-menu.shtml

Otherwise, can any of you 383 guys recommend somewhere to pick up a stroker kit? Being that I've never built a Stroker before, I dont know where to look. Thanks.
Old 10-30-2006, 01:07 PM
zo1boy
Le Mans Master

maybe this would be better in the Tech section?
Old 10-30-2006, 02:28 PM
93-383
Burning Brakes

your right you will get more replies in the tech section but as far as the question. Alot of companies make stroker kits the question to ask is where did thier componets come from aka SCAT Eagle Lunati ect. what do you get, how much does it cost and is the balancing included in the price. And I mean real balancing. Example my 383 build I opted to buy part for part (I actualy saved money by going with stock rods) bought the hypertechnic pistons -6cc dish, 3.75 crank from eagle, all brngs, oilpump, and gasket set) in total I save a few hundred dollars the only surprise cost (not realy) was the balancing and addition of heavy metal wich only cost an extra $60 total cost of my build was a bout 4.7k but the only things original on the engine are block,lifters,intake,flywheel(ranout of money for the aluminum),and oil pan parts where about 3.4 and machining and assembly($120) where 1.3 I could have saved money on the machining but I wanted the block fully reconditioned.
Old 11-17-2006, 08:07 PM
makeitfast
1st Gear

Default Rpm Machine Stroker kit

Hey