C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Rear defroster not working?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2007, 09:18 AM
Matatk
Drifting

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts

Default Rear defroster not working?

Well, I'm not exactly sure how to go about checking this, because I'm no electrical guru. I tried to use my rear defroster this morning because there was a little condensation on the back glass. I hit the button on the dash, and the light lit up, and I heard something click behind the dashboard, so I assumed it was working. Buuuuuuut, nothing happened. The window didn't clear up at all. I checked at the rear window struts and everything is attached. I don't see any broken wires, etc. Anyone have any ideas? Is there a relay or anything? Can I use a test light or a multimeter to check the grids to see if there is power when I turn on the button? Anyone have a schematic?
Like I said, I'm not an expert here, but I'm willing to try anything if someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks,

Matthew
Old 08-04-2007, 09:09 PM
NEVRL8T
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have never heard of anyone using a rear defroster to dry condensation. I am not sure that would work.
Old 08-04-2007, 10:31 PM
AthensVette
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Rear window defroster should dry condensation because the side mirror defroster dries it.
Old 08-04-2007, 10:35 PM
NEVRL8T
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by AthensVette
Rear window defroster should dry condensation because the side mirror defroster dries it.
You sure thats not the wind drying that condensation on the side mirrors?
Old 08-04-2007, 10:36 PM
Matatk
Drifting

Originally Posted by TheAngelOfDeath
I have never heard of anyone using a rear defroster to dry condensation. I am not sure that would work.