Opti & water pump replacment-94 LT1

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2008, 06:38 AM
grayml
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opti & water pump replacment-94 LT1

Hello all,

With what the stealership wants to do this job ($1400 including parts) I want to attempt it myself. I'm a decent shade tree mechanic and have no fear of turning a wrench

Any tip, tricks or techniques that anyone can recommend I'm listening, and how much time can I expect it to take since this is my first time doing this job?

The dealer's labor rate is up to $100 an hour, just ridiculous. They wanted $500 labor to put on one halfshaft u-joints, so I did the job in my driveway in 2 hours.

Thanks!!
Old 07-16-2008, 08:19 AM
pianoguy
Safety Car

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Figure on a day as you will probably run into a few snags - removing the balancer pulley can be time-consuming, as can cleaning off the old water pump gasket material. Here's the long and short of it:

1). Drain the cooling system, by opening the petcock on the radiator, and then by removing the knock sensors on each side of the engine block
1a). Disconnect the battery negative cable
2). Remove the air cleaner bellows and serpentine belt, disconnect electrical connections to MAF and water level sensor
3). Disconnect radiator and heater hoses, and remove the water pump (you may also want to remove the radiator hoses to get them out of the way)
4). Remove the harmonic balancer pulley (3 bolts) - you may want to spray some PB blaster where it mates to the hub, and also mark the pulley's position. Note that the pulley bolts must be roughly at 10, 2 and 6 o'clock in order for the opti to clear the hub. The pulley will likely be rusted to the hub - I used a 2x2 up against the back side of the pulley (from underneath and behind) and tapped with a hammer, rotating the pulley, until it came loose.
5). Mark the spark plug wires and vacuum hoses, and disconnect from the opti