C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

91 6spd or 92+ 6spd...pros and cons what to buy

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2009, 03:36 PM
RC000E
Le Mans Master

Received 346 Likes on 208 Posts
Default 91 6spd or 92+ 6spd...pros and cons what to buy

I'm wondering if in hindsight any people have decided on a true preference between the L98 cars and LT1 cars. My personal preference is the newer body style and 6speed only cars, so I'm trying to make the best decision.

Through reading I've considered:

92+ has the LT1, more power, better improvements on rattles and things associated. Has opti spark issues and others?

91+ have the L98, but I've heard there's more in the aftermarket...I'm not convinced but an wondering what more informed minds have to say on the subject. Less power, but are these more build friendly for any reason?

My background is pretty intensive in racing, fab, headporting, EMS tuning, etc. So, it is likely while my car may stay stock or lightly modded for a short time I'll either be building a custom forced induction setup or be doing some various N/A setup. So, I'm curious which has the more affordable management solutions and which is the better starting point.

Internally speaking, what are the advantages of the LT1 versus the L98? The ZF trannies were no different I assume, is this correct?

Lastly, wiring aside, how much different are the LT1's versus the L98's when considering swapping the motors (LT1 into 91). Are there mount differences, bellhousing boltup issues, etc?

Any info you can lend....thanks ahead of time.
Old 09-08-2009, 04:06 PM
turbopezz
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts