!988 cranks but won't start intermittently

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2014, 02:43 PM
spartangreek
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default !988 cranks but won't start intermittently

Hi,
newbie here. Just bought a 1988 coupe 4+3 coupe torch red w/black interior, in extremely clean condition. It runs great but after it gets up to temperature and is driven a while and is shut off it won't start when I get back in it. have to wait a few hours and it will fire right up again with just a turn of the key. This has happened to me three times now (every time I've taken it out). I had it towed to a chevy dealer and hope they will be able to fix it however the previous owner had the same problem and had a dealer replace the O2 sensor, EGR valve, complete tune up with new plugs, wires, rotor, cap, and distributor, (3) new catalytic converters, new burn off relays, cleaned bottle throttle, checked fuel injectors, fuel pressure, fuel pressure regulator, coolant sensor, all checked out "OK". they said the coil showed signs of arcing but nothing was done about it. It had 73,900 miles on it. I smell fuel after a couple of unsuccessful tries to start it. I'm afraid the dealer will run up a huge bill with no remedy! please help...!!!
Old 09-28-2014, 10:08 PM
jv9999
Melting Slicks

Received 317 Likes on 271 Posts

I assume you mean it's turns over but won't start? When it won't start you go through the basics. Does it have spark? Does it have fuel pressure? Does the fuel pressure leak down when it's shut off? Are the injectors firing?

This shouldn't be a tough one to solve as long as you can reproduce the problem.

Last edited by jv9999; 09-29-2014 at 01:19 PM.
Old 09-29-2014, 09:09 AM
JCrock
Instructor

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Any computer codes?