C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Looked At A C4 Today

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2017, 03:14 PM
rusty76
Racer

Received 54 Likes on 39 Posts
Default Looked At A C4 Today

I'm a newbie, both on this forum and to corvettes. I created a thread in the intro section that I've been adding to. I'm contemplating buying either a C3 or a C4 and have been looking for either.

Today I went to look at an '87 C4 with a 4+3. It has the options listed below. Some I found, some I didn't. I'm not sure why all the options weren't on the RPO list I found on the net, maybe someone can enlighten me?

The car is owned by a guy that has other collector cars as well. He told me he and his father bought and worked on this one together over the last 5 years. He said he decided to sell it because his father passed last year and he's getting rid of some of his (father's) things.

The car looked good. He had just pulled it out of the storage trailer he keeps it in and told me he had to charge the battery. It was obvious when he started it that the car doesn't get driven much. It took it a while to smooth out. Really nothing worse for a car than to leave it sit for long periods.

He said he might drive this car a thousand miles a year which sounded about right given the way the car looks. It's very clean. The guy has a lift in his home garage and he put the vette up on the lift. I was surprised at how clean it is underneath, not even any surface rust. I saw no obvious evidence of crash damage. The only flaw I saw was a couple small holes in the pipes in the rear. I'd have to do a cat back exhaust but probably not in the first couple years.

I test drove the car and in spite of sitting for so long it ran well. The trans shifted into and out of overdrive in all three gears. It's obvious the car has miles on it but it wasn't overly rickety, overall I was impressed.