C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Doing Opti, making a video...have questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2017, 02:09 PM
mark970
Drifting

Received 273 Likes on 209 Posts
Default Doing Opti, making a video...have questions

Hey guys i will be doing my opti on a 1995 and have some simple questions before starting. (i've never done this repair before so I need some clarification...thanks)

1)
The Service Manual says to remove a motor mount and lift the engine?? (to remove the crank shaft balancer). i've never seen that written in any threads that i've read. Necessary???

2)
are there any special tools required for this job? the Service manual keeps making reference to tool "J 39046" (again for the crank shaft balancer/shaft). i assume that's some type of puller?? didnt see that tool in the manual under the general Corvette maintenance tool list.

3)
Do the LT1's have issues with removing spark plugs? should i or do i need to use penetrating oil over night?

4)
I already bought 7mm Spark Plug wires, same as whats on there...i assume for 1k-2k light duty miles per year of driving i will be fine with the 7mm wires? would i see any major benefit going to 8mm??

5)
any good tips/tricks/info/advice......THANKS

Last edited by mark970; 09-15-2017 at 07:03 PM.
The following users liked this post:
mic575 (09-15-2017)
Old 09-15-2017, 02:37 PM
Drifter36
Instructor

Received 39 Likes on 34 Posts

Originally Posted by mark970
Hey guys i will be doing my opti on a 1995 and have some simple questions before starting. (i've never done this repair before so I need some clarification...thanks)

1)
The Service Manual says to remove a motor mount and lift the engine?? (to remove the crank shaft balancer). i've never seen that written any any threads that i've read. Necessary???