C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Need some advice on a corvette I want

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2018, 01:15 PM
AirGhost
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some advice on a corvette I want

Hello, just made this account today been browsing on here for a little while now, I'm 19 and have saved a lot. I've put money into a Roth IRA for my future, No debt, I do plan on moving out in the next 3 years though once i have my bachelor's degree and can start on my career. I was wondering if this corvette is fine for a first car I've never had a car before also i feel like it's little pricey for a c4 corvette because from what i've seen on this forum c4 corvettes shouldn't really be over 6k, I would like to know your opinions on it. Thank you for reading.

​​​​​​https://www.facebook.com/marketplace...84219182199877
Old 04-14-2018, 09:31 PM
Palanon
Instructor

Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts

Looks to be in good shape based on the few pictures. Price probably reflects the area pricing. Have you looked around for prices of similar year, mileage and options? Is this going to be a daily driver in NY? Do you have access to or plans for another car? For that price and year you should, if your dead set on it, have it gone through by a trusted mechanic who is familiar with the car. Bushings, bearings, etc. can be worn or rotting.

Plus, there's always the option of shopping for one in a lower priced market. There is a lot to consider. Even insurance cost for a sports car at your age. There really is an awful lot of things to be considered in the purchase.

Last edited by Palanon; 04-14-2018 at 09:33 PM.
Old 04-14-2018, 09:36 PM
rkj427
Race Director
Pro Mechanic
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3,950 Likes on 2,470 Posts
2024 Corvette of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2023 C6 of the Year Winner - Unmodified
2020 C6 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2019 C6 of Year Finalist (appearance mods)

First, welcome to the forum!