C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

85 vette z51 power steering rack leaking

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2018, 12:03 PM
Brockdel18
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 85 vette z51 power steering rack leaking

Hello everyone, I am new to the corvette forums, but I have a 1985 corvette base z51 that’s been sitting for over 14 years, I brought it back to life and got it running/ driving/ stopping again. But I have a severe leak from the power steering rack. It seems to be coming from the input shaft where the Column meets the rack but I am not 100% positive this is it. The fluid look almost like liquid graphite so I assume that’s why the seal went bad. I drained the reservoir and added a bottle of Lucas stop leak but it didn’t help much. The fluid is better but still grey and doesn’t look so hot. So I thought about flushing the system and I bought a big bottle of stop leak to put in the system. If it doesn’t seal the leak, what are my options? I could replace the rack but I really don’t have the spare change. Is there a way to replace just that seal without removing the rack? Or is there something else I could try? This car is a P I M A.
Old 04-24-2018, 11:30 AM
Randy M
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 34 Likes on 32 Posts

I just pulled the rack out of my car for the same problem. Only my leak is coming from the cap at the end of the pinion. My car is an 85 also. While the rack is out I am putting in all new hoses and pump also. Good luck with yours.
Old 04-24-2018, 12:09 PM
1984Z51auto
Pro

Received 43 Likes on 38 Posts

Originally Posted by Brockdel18