C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Extremely loud output after "installing" aftermarket stereo

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2018, 08:51 AM
sigtermintel
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Extremely loud output after "installing" aftermarket stereo

First off, I have zero experience in the installation of car stereos so I apologize in advance for my general incompetence.

I own an 86' which had the stock Bose stereo (it played cassettes) and I decided to remove it and install an aftermarket one so I didn't have to listen to the radio all the time. Before this I bought an old tape with the intention of playing it, turns out the cassette part of the radio doesn't work haha. I'm aware most people opt for a pioneer as it is easy to install, but I felt that it looked out of place so I went for a modern clone of the original radio: https://www.retromanufacturing.com/p...nt=31559204494

So I cut some wires and hook it all up in the console. The radio works great and looks even better, but there is this small issue that it blasts the **** out of my eardrums when I turn it on. I have to lower the sound from the default 16 to 2, leaving me with a great hissing sound mixed in with my music. I am assuming that this is due to the 'Ohm" output of the new radio being too high and I'm asking for a solution as I am rapidly going deaf.

Appreciate it
Old 10-20-2018, 03:15 PM
Haggisbash
Melting Slicks

Received 230 Likes on 198 Posts

I'm sure an expert will chime in but haven't the Bose speakers got amplifiers built into them? If yes that means you have way too much gain, I'm surprised you haven't blown the speakers up.
The following users liked this post:
Aerovette (10-20-2018)
Old 10-20-2018, 03:31 PM
billschroeder5842
Zen Vet Master Level VII

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,140 Likes on 845 Posts

Originally Posted by Haggisbash