C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Newbie here ..be easy ..lol..

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2019, 07:23 PM
BoostNJuice
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here ..be easy ..lol..

Hi all & thanks for the ad here quick question ,just got this 87 c4 dont know much about these cars anyways literally got on this site like 30 minutes ago.. this car appears to have d44 rearend , am I right ? Just asking so I know what I have .. Also if I was to put a ole sbc motor or a ls motor what motor mounts would I need for each type of motor ? I wanna put a 350/400 trans in car, what trans crossmember would work ? & what drive shaft that's rated to about 1000-1200 hp ? & length? Any help would be appreciated.. sorry about the crappy pic it's kinda dark here.

D44 ???

Last edited by BoostNJuice; 03-18-2019 at 07:24 PM.
Old 03-18-2019, 09:00 PM
hcbph
Safety Car

Received 526 Likes on 476 Posts

Welcome to the forum. Now for reality: slow down. You have what appears to be an automatic so if it's still oem it's a D36 differential. IMO if you plan to try and put a TH350 or TH400 into this car you're in for a surprise or two, as will 1000+ hp. You have a C-bean to deal with on the transmission for one thing and that's something without a special adapter that you're going to find for those other transmissions. I suspect to pull 1000+ hp will cost multiple times what you purchased the car for: Full frame, Ford 9" rear, pretty much everything replaced or manufactured from scratch.

I think dreaming is fine but you need time to get acquainted with your car and do a lot of reading here then set some realistic objectives. Not trying to come down on you, but you need to slow down there.
Old 03-18-2019, 09:15 PM
BoostNJuice
Heel & Toe