(Newbie) Buying A 1990 Chevrolet Corvette

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2019, 06:57 PM
Allen Lyle
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default (Newbie) Buying A 1990 Chevrolet Corvette

Hello Everyone ,
I'm new to this forum and I'm here because I am considering buying a 1990 Chevrolet Corvette. I am 19 years old and I have never owned a car before. I owned a motorcycle for a year and a half now, but it recently got totaled (a lady hit me). I am considering giving up riding a motorcycle, at least for now because of college, and buying a car. I don't know much about cars, I'm a total newbie because I've never had anyone to teach me. I just want to know if this is a good car in terms of expenses, maintenance, and usage, etc. I have watched a few videos of the car and I've seen one in person and I love these cars. I'd just like all of your opinions since you know the car better than I do. Is there anything I should know and look out for? Any tips?

Thanks in advance for all the help!
Old 04-05-2019, 07:05 PM
pologreen1
Team Owner

Received 260 Likes on 239 Posts

How much money do you have for a corvette?
Old 04-05-2019, 07:07 PM
confab
Melting Slicks

Received 335 Likes on 295 Posts

Originally Posted by Allen Lyle
I don't know much about cars, I'm a total newbie because I've never had anyone to teach me. I just want to know if this is a good car in terms of expenses, maintenance, and usage, etc.
IMO, the answers are: No, no, and no.

In fact, it is probably one of the worst vehicles you could choose as a noob and a student, and someone with no experience.

But, having said that, it is a unique experience and worth having. Owning any car this old can be a challenge. Knowing very little isn't an insurmountable obstacle, but being mechanically inclined and having a little general knowledge sure does help. They aren't the cheapest way to get around, either.