C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

1995 Corvette Pace Car - Convertible Top Issue

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2019, 09:52 PM
pacecar1995
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 Corvette Pace Car - Convertible Top Issue

I'm a late comer to Corvette Ownership. Last year I bought a 1995 Pace Car with 21K miles. It seems to ride a little rough but maybe '95's do. However, my main issue is that the "latch pins" that hold the top down in the rear pop out. Being a novice, I don't know what the issue is. Now, this week I have been unable to pop the rear left side back in. Are these called latch pins or is it called something else. It seems like a crappy design .... for a Corvette.

Thanks for any input. I appreciate it.
Old 05-16-2019, 12:20 PM
vetteLT193
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 524 Likes on 314 Posts

Are you pushing them down all the way? When I had a C4 vert I'd literally put my hand down on the corner of the top and jump up so my full body weight was on the latch. They are tough to fully latch. The design was a carryover that dated back to... well I think 1953. But they didn't carry over the multiple locking 'jaw' that they came up with on the C2. On C2's you have to really push to get the top to fully latch but they would partially latch with a half press.

Another option is to try putting the top up but not latching the front first, this relieves some of the tension on the back. Latch the back, then latch the front next. I never tried that on my C4 verts but I did on my 66 and it was easier.
The following users liked this post:
BubbaKahuna (05-18-2019)
Old 05-16-2019, 12:38 PM
3D-Aircrew
Melting Slicks

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 145 Likes on 112 Posts

Originally Posted by pacecar1995