C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Trouble diagnosing my 93.

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2020, 08:31 PM
Ryann Chandler
Cruising

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by MatthewMiller
If the problem is the same with the engine hot or cold, it is not the O2 sensors. The PCM ignores them completely until the coolant temp is warm and it goes into closed-loop operation. So I'd say you can scratch that one off for now. That doesn't strike me as a coil problem or opti problem, either, just based on sound...for whatever that's worth.
@MatthewMiller Yeah I guess what I wanted to show was the symptom of the car. I don't think the sound is anything to worry about...then again, I'm not a mechanic. I really don't see or hear anything abnormal, other than the stuttering. Great info on the 02 sensor though. I think next steps might be the injectors as mentioned above.
Old 11-15-2020, 08:42 PM
Nomake Wan
Drifting

Received 594 Likes on 447 Posts

Agreed, it's a very strange sound. It sounds fine at idle, then under any throttle at all it just...misses.

Do you have any datalogs from TunerPro RT or ALDLDroid or whatever you're using yet? If the problem is a sensor sending bad data to the ECM, it will be far easier to see in a graph with all the sensor values laid out than it will be trying to test every single sensor one by one with a multimeter.
Old 11-15-2020, 08:53 PM
MatthewMiller
Le Mans Master

Received 1,705 Likes on 1,291 Posts

Originally Posted by Nomake Wan
Agreed, it's a very strange sound. It sounds fine at idle, then under any throttle at all it just...misses.