C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Help! What to do with my 84?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2024, 09:05 PM
MR.West
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! What to do with my 84?

Hello everyone, I recently purchased an 84 vette as my daily driver. I got a pretty good deal as it has 72k miles and I paid 5k. My plans with this car is to bump it up some power, but still keep it as my daily driver. I am 17 and in high school with a part time job. College is coming up soon so time is a bit of an issue. I want to have my car doing better by August. Money is less of an issue. No GF= No expenses lol. I am still learning about cars daily so please let me know if I am misinformed or too ambitious. I have some questions for my corvette wizards in here given my current situation:

Would it be cheaper to build the engine(l-83) or swap it?
Do I keep or get rid of the crossfire intake? I hear many say to either port it, carb it, or swap it. I don't want to carb it as it is my daily
For my heads, performance and money wise, should I buy vortec heads (906 or 062) or go with 041, 186, 461 heads?
And at what point does a cam get too strong for daily driving in these cars? I am fine giving up some mpg but I do not want to risk engine failure.
Any advice or recommendations on how to learn this stuff lol, I watch countless videos on youtube.

that is all
Old 05-10-2024, 11:36 PM
typical boomer
Instructor

Received 98 Likes on 51 Posts

Well my 17th birthday came and went a looong time ago, but I only have 10 months under my belt as a corvette owner and forum member. I would think that a well running '84 will be a girl friend magnet and will kill your hobby budget quickly. She will not care what cam it has or if you have ported the intake. She will appreciate the looks her girlfriends give you both as you cruise by.
Old 05-11-2024, 12:14 AM
CA-Legal-Vette
Race Director

Received 322 Likes on 273 Posts

Welcome to the forum!