Notices
C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Building a stock L98 to get 300HP?

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2004, 01:27 PM
olefam
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Building a stock L98 to get 300HP?

I'm just toying with this idea right now. First, I'm not a mechanic, but I have some skills and some tools and some minor repair/maintenance experience. My goal is to get a '91 L98 from 250 HP up to approx 300 HP. Since I don't have this car yet, this concept is pure speculation. But perhaps someone on this forum has done something similar.
1) Would a mild street grind cam, roller lifters, and roller rockers be hard to put into this engine?
2) Would the engine have to be removed to put in the cam, or could the radiator be removed to get the room needed to pull the cam?
3) I would like to pull the heads, resurface the seats, and replace the valves and springs for reliability and better breathing. Any special concerns I should be aware of? Any reason why the engine couldn't remain in the frame during this process?
4) Are the aluminum heads used on this engine free breathing from the factory, or do the ports need to be cleaned up or polished?
5) I would like to use the stock intake plenum, injectors, throttle body, etc. Is the factory unit already at its limit, or will it flow more air if the engine gets the cam?
6) I would like to use either the stock exhaust manifolds or shorty headers. But I would probably add an aftermarket cross-over pipe and free flowing mufflers.
With these modifications, would I get reasonably close to 300HP?
Thank you for your thoughts.
Glen
Old 01-25-2004, 01:35 PM
redwing76
Le Mans Master

Default Re: Building a stock L98 to get 300HP? (olefam)

Vortech!
Old 01-25-2004, 01:39 PM
vader86
Team Owner

Received 1,400 Likes on 1,016 Posts
C7 of the Year - Unmodified Finalist 2021
C4 of Year Finalist (performance mods) 2019