C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Need some help with these questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2006, 09:41 PM
honda hunter
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Need some help with these questions

Can someone answer these questions for me?

1. I'm all about straight line performance. I'm new to the C4 so where do I start on getting my suspension setup for drag racing? I know shocks are on the list but what else?

2. How much horsepower can a 1993 C4 transmission take and what rebuild kits do you guys know and trust for it?

3. My keyless entry pad is broken. How do I replace it?

4. Does the F-body and C4 share the same fuel pump design? I have a racetronix 255 fuel pump from my camaro that I want to use. AFAIK return fuel setups are somewhat the same.

5. Last but not least I want to get some 18x12 with the biggest tires availible for them. Will they fit out back using the BFH mod?

Thanks guys for the help.
Old 07-11-2006, 10:00 PM
Pete K
Race Director

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

[QUOTE=honda hunter]Can someone answer these questions for me?

2. How much horsepower can a 1993 C4 transmission take and what rebuild kits do you guys know and trust for it?

This is a tough question to answer quicly and easily. On a nearly stock car they take quite a bit.
Old 07-11-2006, 10:09 PM
Lichen
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Gears - 3.54 - 3.73. HP, I don't know but I would guess under 350 hp with a D36 on street tires. Open your wallet because your are now hooked. You might also want to check into a Hotcam/heads package plus longtube headers. What are your goals? I would also stick with 17x 11 tires. Most serious racers go with smaller tires. Maybe buy a set of drag radials. I don't know about suspension, but go no cheaper than Bilsteins. For the tranny, install a shift kit and a 2200-2500 stall converter. People with more knowledge will chime in shortly.