C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

What's the down side to Headers?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2001, 12:28 PM
khornet
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's the down side to Headers?

I'm still a newbie so bear with me.... I'm starting to plan out the exhaust mod's I want on my 95 convertible and I'm thinking about headers. I want to keep the car driveable but still bump up the performance. This will be done in concert with a catback (probably Corsa) and a couple hi-flow cats.

From what I remember of headers of years ago, it was difficult to keep bolts tight, heat problems, some didn't seal very well, etc...

Are the new ones a world apart? What, if any, are the problems with the headers of today?

Being the interior noise level is already fairly high, am I in for trouble by bolting headers on?

Shorty's vs. Long tubes?

Stainless vs. Ceramic coated?

Any other issues????
Old 09-14-2001, 02:25 PM
Raysur
Safety Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Re: What's the down side to Headers? (khornet)

Shorties don't do much for performance. If you want a gain from this mod you need longtubes. The leak problem can be taken of with some Fel Pro gaskets. Ceramic coated headers last way longer. Painted headers will rot from the inside out. Ceramic coated headers are supposed to keep the heat down too. The exhaust tone will be louder and more clear. If you have a stick you can run cats close to the stock location. If you have an auto you need to move them downstream with a heat shield. Hooker 2151 are your best bet ($289), then get them fitted, and send them to get coated($200). So when they get reinstalled there will be no scraps from fitting them.
Old 09-14-2001, 03:01 PM
ROADAPPLE
Drifting