C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

FRISBEE- is it really safe to take off?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2002, 09:17 AM
thnbluline50
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FRISBEE- is it really safe to take off?

I have read many posts that say it's ok but I am a bit skeptable (SP) about it. Please help!! Why would GM put it on if it really has no purpose at all? Is it there for some kind of balancer or something? Forgive me if this is a really dumb question but I am not a mechanic, just a body-man. :confused:
Old 03-31-2002, 10:04 AM
XtremeVette
NCM Bash 2008-2018
Support Corvetteforum!

Location: Granby, MA Talladega Super Speedway Vettes 4 Vets Ambassador
Received 75 Likes on 60 Posts
Middle TN Events Coordinator
Cruise-In 1, 3, 9. 10 & 11 Veteran

Default Re: FRISBEE- is it really safe to take off? (thnbluline50)

HI....thnbluline50.....don't think anything of it....i too am about as picky with my vette as they come....basically....all that frisbee does or once did was GM felt it would help dampen an intitial vibration that would occur when turning the ac on....later it was removed....GM took a closer look at this and realized....the L-98 really did not benefit at all from it...like they once assumed....