C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

would like to autocross my c4, need info

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2002, 12:58 PM
Wheelman
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default would like to autocross my c4, need info

i have never done this before and would like to.....i would like to know what i need to do it and how much it costs and if it is going to be hard on my daily driver.....
any info appreciated

thanks
Old 04-05-2002, 01:26 PM
vader86
Team Owner

Received 1,400 Likes on 1,016 Posts
C7 of the Year - Unmodified Finalist 2021
C4 of Year Finalist (performance mods) 2019

Default Re: would like to autocross my c4, need info (C4Fetish)

how much it costs will depend on what you want to do, SCCA or some type of freelance stuff

I know Clemson's Auto Club charges $15 or thereabouts for people to run in their course.

and all racing is hard on the car, you may need to upgrade your suspension or replace things in it

[Modified by vader86, 12:26 PM 4/5/2002]
Old 04-05-2002, 03:46 PM
TravisD
Burning Brakes

Make sure the oil level is correct - maybe go 1/2 quart "over". Autocrossing will consume some and you don't want to starve anything in the engine in a turn.

Tires: If you're on street tires put about 35PSI air in them to start, keep an eye to see if they're rolling over onto the edges too far (i.e. down the sidewall).

Don't start replacing things on the car until you fix the loose nut behind the wheel - that's where the biggest improvement comes.

Oh, make sure you have at least half a tank of gas to prevent fuel starvation.

At the event, show up early, ask questions, and walk the course as much as possible.
Old 04-05-2002, 04:32 PM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 476 Likes on 423 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

It's fun, it doesn't really hurt the car, the tire may take a little abuse, it's fairly cheap, it's FUN!!