C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Tips for replacing the ignition cylinder on telescopic steering column

Old 08-30-2015, 09:46 PM
DarkObsession
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Tips for replacing the ignition cylinder on telescopic steering column

Yesterday I replaced the ignition cylinder on my 1985 Corvette and I thought I'd post about a few things I learned along the way. This write up isn't a how-to, but more just to point out spots where I got stuck. Hopefully it will help someone out some day. If I had known the basics of how the telescope feature worked it would have taken me way less than the 3 hours it did!

I've never done this kind of project before so I did what I normally do and searched for a Youtube video. I found this one
and watched it. Seemed pretty straightforward so I went to work. It wasn't as easy as the video made it seem because that video didn't have the telescopic feature but it was all I could find. I've included a parts diagram below and will reference numbers as I go along.

The first thing I'll point out is that the way the telescopic feature locks is really important to this project going smoothly. You have to get it (part 41) to lock inside the overall assembly otherwise you'll never get the lock plate (part 2) and retaining clip (part 1) back on. I didn't know how it worked so it added probably an hour or more to me trying to get everything back together.

When you start your project pay attention to how the lock mechanism (not pictured in the diagram) works!
Undoing the lever that you use to lock the wheel down in your everyday driving from the big screw that looks kind of like a star is something like the third step in the process. What this screw does is put a slight amount of pressure on a rod (part 40) and wedge (part 43) that is inside the overall assembly. This little bit of pressure is really important!