C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

How long could this have been leaking for and source? Photos

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2016, 05:07 AM
woodstockdrifter
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default How long could this have been leaking for and source? Photos

Hope everyone had a nice weekend.

I removed the oil filter from my C4 today to check for any metal particles. It was recommended by some of you here since I have an engine ticking noise to check for bearing failure. Oil filter looked fine but I found an oil leak that looks like its spread out pretty far or its multiple leaks of course. I am new to diagnosing car issues so excuse my lack of knowledge if this is a dumb question and the source of the leaks are obvious.

The car is pretty new to me, it was not leaking oil when I bought it but I didnt take a really good look underneath. It started to drip a few weeks ago a little after I noticed the ticking noise. It will drip a few drops in only 1 area but not enough to make it a tiny puddle or spread on the ground.

Where the dripping happens, center of front side of car under the engine

Noticed more here under valve covers

Also, even though its not dripping much oil should I be checking my oil level weekly? Not sure if a lot of it evaporates before hitting the ground.

Last edited by woodstockdrifter; 11-07-2016 at 05:15 AM.
Old 11-07-2016, 08:23 AM
Cruisinfanatic
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Location: Clifton Park, NY ..............Clearwater, FL ... 85 Original Owner
Received 553 Likes on 432 Posts

Originally Posted by woodstockdrifter
Hope everyone had a nice weekend.