C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Project car. Massive coolant leak and maybe an exhaust leak.

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2017, 03:35 PM
Markever234
Heel & Toe

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Project car. Massive coolant leak and maybe an exhaust leak.

A little background.. I'm brand new to the corvette world as of 4/18/17.
I purchased a 1985 blue corvette. l98, auto trans. The previous owner had stated that the vehicle had been sitting for a while but it did pass
a VA inspection on 4/3/17. Anyways.. I get her home and start discovering problems.. Headlight gear is out on the passenger side(which I was aware of), massive coolant leak, and the exhaust system has seen better days... as well as all maintenance needs to be preformed.. I'm really not sure
how this vehicle passed a VA inspection, but w/e. Background on me..
I used to mess around with GM 3800 series engines, but nothing too
serious. I am very engine dumb but I really enjoy working on cars, so hence the 85 Vette. I was hoping to get some guidance on the coolant and exhaust leaks... any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. Videos of the issues are below.

Last edited by Markever234; 04-19-2017 at 08:59 PM. Reason: Links are not working
Old 04-19-2017, 04:20 PM
hcbph
Safety Car

Received 525 Likes on 475 Posts

Congrats on the car - then again no one said it was going to be like a new one