C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Out of Balance Power Steering?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2017, 10:59 AM
GotSpeed?
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Out of Balance Power Steering?

Hello Corvette Forum members!

I am new here as I am the recent new owner (this is my first year anyways) of an 84 C4 Corvette. I have looked around for people with similar problems to mine on all the forums I could possibly find but I have come across literally nothing for C4's. So, alass... I broke down and decided to ask the question myself to see if anyone has a clue. You all seemed like a knowledgeable bunch, so I hope I came to the right place.

Now... the symptoms are rather strange. Unlike most people who lose power steering in their C4 it seams... mine has done the exact opposite. My power steering has become way over active when turning only to the left. When I am turning to the right the power and feel are completely normal. When turning to the left, the wheel turns practically on its own with no assist from me. I have to actually hold it back from going all the way to left lock. Now before anyone says to check my alignment, just wait... it get weirder.

This not only happens when I am driving, but at all times... driving or stationary... doesn't matter. If I give the wheel a gentle flick to the left, it will continue all the way to lock under its own power very slowly. It is just strong enough to overcome the force from the stationary wheels.

Now, in my research, I came across people having problems similar to this with C3 Covette's as their PSCV was not adjusted correctly. I got excited thinking I had found the problem so I hurriedly went out to my car to adjust this part only to find that this is not the case in the C4. I do not appear to have any place to adjust the power steering... or at least not one that is obvious... and that is why I am here.