C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

4L60 Band All Burned Up. Why?

Old 09-23-2017, 10:09 PM
IHBD
Instructor

Received 1,682 Likes on 1,293 Posts
2023 C4 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
Default 4L60 Band All Burned Up. Why?

thanks for the help

Last edited by IHBD; 03-15-2020 at 11:54 PM.
Old 09-24-2017, 01:34 AM
arbee
Melting Slicks

Received 539 Likes on 347 Posts

Originally Posted by ihatebarkingdogs
I've done about a dozen 4L60 and 60e's over the years, I'm not an expert by any stretch, but I'm past the point where I make mistakes from inexperience. . I've never seen this before. I want to be sure I won't overlook a root cause.

I "patched" this transmission for a friend a couple of years ago, after a sprag failure that destroyed everything in the input drum and the drum itself. I used parts from my stash, and it worked pretty well when we were done. He drove it probably 20,000 miles since. It was a complete used sprag assembly from a working transmission. It is the double-cage late sprag.

He said he was going pretty fast (better than 80, which in this truck is about 3,000 RPM) and it "downshifted" he thinks to 3rd, and sent out a huge smokescreen. He was able to drive it home. All it had was 1st, 3rd, and reverse.

The band and drum are destroyed. Total melt-down, with metal transfer to the drum from the band. The forward sprag wasn't seized, but was really tight. The flippers are ground down on the inside. Both inner and outer races are brinelled and scored. It looks like the sprag ran dry and seized. If the sprag seizes in 4th, it will force the band to slip. Hence the band burn-up and all the smoke. The servo looks fine, I didn't assemble it incorrectly. The 3-4, forward, and lo-reverse clutches all look fine. I don't think it was a TV problem.