C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Warming up an L98 with a 3k budget

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2018, 08:57 PM
esp42089
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Warming up an L98 with a 3k budget

Hi all! This is my first post here on the forum, although I've been plumbing the knowledge here for a couple years while building my 53 Chevy. I created a quick album with a couple pictures that might give you some hints why a guy with a 53 chevy is here . If there is a lot of interest I can post a link to my build log, although I'm not sure if there are rules against that.

Jumping into it: I bought a 91 corvette manual trans donor car with ~140k miles and a recently replaced clutch. It ran well enough and it had everything I wanted for my 53. I grafted the entire suspension and drivetrain into the 53 and in the process of putting the L98 in, I did the following:
  • wired it up to a Megasquirt 2 with a wideband O2 sensor
  • stripped off all the smog stuff and the air conditioning (retained PS, alt, and water pump)
  • installed cast iron 2.5" rams horns (truram) run into 2.5" exhaust merging to 3.5" single at the tail of the trans, breaking back into two 2.5" pipes behind the diff into Flowmaster Delta50s and out the back.
Everything is running great. After 3k miles, it has burned a negligible amount of oil and what's on the dipstick is still amber colored. It seems like it's healthy, but I want more punch out of it. I value throttle response and would like tipping into the throttle at cruising rpm (1600-2200rpm) to result in a strong surge instead of hesitation or lugging. This car won't see a track, autox, or dragstrip. It's pure street. I've scraped together about $3000 and have the wife's blessing so here is what I'm thinking:
  • AFR180s with Manley StreetFlo Valves
  • COMP cams XR264HR cam kit (including dbl roller timing set), magnum pushrods, and UltraPro rockers with 7/16" ARP studs