C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Inherited an 88

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2018, 12:10 AM
SemiCompetent
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Inherited an 88

Hey all, brand new to the forum and to Vettes in general. I recently inherited a stock 1988 that’s been parked in a garage for the last 10 years. I figure, since I have a bunch of work to do anyway, I might as well look into some upgrades for the car and I was hoping you guys could tell me start. I’m completely new to modding and I’ll be honest, I’m a bit overwhelmed with all the research I’ve been doing. I figure I have 2 to 3k that I can put into the upgrades. Also, while I’ve done a lot of general maintenance and repairs, I’ve never really tore an engine or rear apart before
Old 03-23-2018, 07:52 AM
playsdixie
Drifting

Received 59 Likes on 51 Posts

welcome.....do some searches there are a few good threads on how to modify an L98. There is also lots of help here.....however.....I'l read up a little more about c-4's....great cars but complex. There are really no easy mods that are effective that are cheap....the money for your budget will get you wheels and tires or maybe an exhaust system....get's pricier when you get to the engine....I think Vader 86 had the best thread about what you can do and cost. I'd think about keeping it stock for a while....my 2 cents.....either way, lots of really smart guys here who will help you....

Last edited by playsdixie; 03-23-2018 at 07:53 AM.
Old 03-23-2018, 08:56 AM
PatternDayTrader
Race Director

Received 1,056 Likes on 769 Posts

I would say catch up all the maintenance first, and replace anything that might be worn out, such as tires or brakes or whatever.
Old 03-23-2018, 09:00 AM
hcbph
Safety Car

Received 526 Likes on 476 Posts

Originally Posted by PatternDayTrader