C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Dipstick tube stuck and broken

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2018, 10:17 AM
paul1988
Advanced

Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Dipstick tube stuck and broken

Hi everyone,
I'm a new poster here; I have been working for a while on my 1988 C4. I finished replacing the head gaskets, manifold gaskets etc .... I got the head lapped, cleaned up every single engine component beside the block. When reassembling the passenger side manifold last week I broke the dipstick tube. I bought a new dipstick (the shiny chromed from Lokar) and now want to install it.

Yesterday I took of the oil pan. I started banging on the piece of tube that was left there. I used vice grips etc... I wasn't able to get it off and the only thing I got from this was a dipstick tube that is broken from the top and the bottom.

So my question: what is left for me? Should I drill it out? Use a screwdriver/chisel/punch and hammer to try to drive the stuck pieces out of the hole?
Any good tips for me guys?
Old 05-27-2018, 10:21 AM
confab
Melting Slicks

Received 335 Likes on 295 Posts

It's tapered if I remember right, and goes in from the top.

Can you clean up the bottom with dremel wheel or something, get on it with an appropriate sized pin punch and drive it up and out from the bottom?

Harbor Freight has a set of pin punches for not a lot.

The following users liked this post:
paul1988 (05-27-2018)
Old 05-27-2018, 02:15 PM
s carter
Melting Slicks

Received 436 Likes on 397 Posts

Originally Posted by confab
It's tapered if I remember right, and goes in from the top.

Can you clean up the bottom with dremel wheel or something, get on it with an appropriate sized pin punch and drive it up and out from the bottom?

Harbor Freight has a set of pin punches for not a lot.