C4 ZR-1 Discussion General ZR-1 Corvette Discussion, LT5 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track

HELP!! Plenum 4CAM32VALVE lettering

Old 03-03-2011, 09:33 AM
Need4Speed90
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP!! Plenum 4CAM32VALVE lettering

soooo i desided to go ahead and refinish the plenum on my z because the finish was chipping off of the trottle body along with some nasty stains on the plenum from the previous owner..i recently purchased the paint from lingenfelter to redo it but now that i have it prepped and ready for paint the usual method i use for the letters wont work...i tried using tape and cutting out the letters with an exacto blade but i cant get a clean edge...car show season is around the corner and my engine is still apart...can anyone help?

ps: i'm a college student and i pretty much spend every dime i have on this car and dont have any extra cash to get it professionally done or else i would have did that in the first place. thanks
Old 03-03-2011, 10:15 AM
VetteMed
Le Mans Master

Received 215 Likes on 142 Posts

Testors model paint, fine brushes, and a steady hand.
Old 03-03-2011, 10:18 AM
Need4Speed90
Advanced

Originally Posted by VetteMed
thanks haha
Old 03-03-2011, 10:23 AM
Need4Speed90
Advanced

of course as soon as i postted this i found this thread (http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c4-z...lettering.html) while reading o ne member (Sectn8) had experience with the lingenfelter paint and said "The problem came up when we sprayed the black it started to eat away at the gray paint and bubbled it all up. Our conclusion was to paint the letters first and then go to a hobby shop and get Parma International Liquid Mask #701. This is a liquid that you paint on the letters and after it dries spray the gray. When everything is dry pick out the dried mask and your good to go."
Old 03-03-2011, 11:42 AM
Goldcylon
Tech Contributor

Received 100 Likes on 90 Posts